« VorigeDoorgaan »
has existed for several years is being gradually reduced. There are twenty-one students in the house.
OPENING OF THE NEW CHAPEL, HARPENDEN, HERTS. A new and very neat Independent Chapel, capable of accommodating 300 persons, recently erected in the beautiful and populous village of Harpenden, Herts, was opened for divine worship, July 14, 1840, when the Rev. W. B. Leach, of London, preached in the morning, and the Rev. S. A. Davies, of Enfield, in the evening. The Rev. J. Harris, of St. Albans, Rev. H. Burgess, of Luton, and the Rev. S. Lennard, M.A. took part in the devotional exercises. The congregations which assembled on this occasion were large, and especially in the evening, when an open-air service was held, and the Rev. J. S. Bright, of Luton, addressed those who could not gain admittance to the chapel. On the following Sabbath, the Rev, H. Davis (minister of the place) preached in the morning, the Rev. J. Salmon, of Coleshill, in the afternoon, and the Rev. J. S. Bright, of Luton, in the evening. The former place of worship is still standing, but, as it is private property and connnected with other premises, (at present to let,) the existence of the congregation must have depended upon the views of the tenant; it was therefore deemed unadvisable to allow it to remain any longer in so insecure and precarious a state. The friends resolved to make a united effort, and in this they have been efficiently aided by the Rev. W. B. Leach, and his people, at Robert Street, London, several of whom were present at the services, and to whose generous contributions, with those of other liberal Christians in the neighboorhood, may be attributed the pleasing circumstance, that, although the chapel cost £474, not more than a debt of £10 remains unpaid.
The auspicious day will long be remembered by the friends of religion at Harpenden. All things, indeed, seemed to conspire to render it a most happy day. The weather was fine, the congregations were large, the prayers fervent, the sermons scriptural and impressive, and the collections good, amounting to £103. 15s,
We are happy to add, that the prospects of usefulness in this village are now very encouraging. The church contains 50 members, and the congregation for some time past has been increasing.
NEW CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, FYLINGDALE, YORKSHIRE. In the township and parish of Fylingdale, about seven miles from Whitby, North Riding of York, is a fishing cove called Robin Hood Bay. The hamlet is much visited by strangers, while the resident population is computed at about a thousand persons.
Some circumstances in providence encouraged the Rev. J. C. Potter, of Whitby, to commence preaching in a new school-room, belonging to Mr. Parkins, on the 16th of December, 1838.
Service was regularly continued on the Lord's-day by the students of the Pickering Home Missionary Academy, and the congregation steadily increased until it became necessary to organize the believers in christian fellowship.
On Lord's-day, therefore, June, 28th, a church was formed on Congregational principles, by the Rev. J. C. Potter, of Whitby. After an address on the nature of a christian church and the duties of members, twenty-five persons, many of whom have been converted to God by the labours of our brethren, publicly signified their desire to be united in fellowship, and to take upon them the obligations of a christian profession. The Lord's Supper was then administered to the newly-formed church.
As the only other place of worship at the Bay is a small Wesleyan place, it has been determined to erect an Independent Chapel, and on Thursday, July 2nd, the first stone was laid in the presence of a large assembly. Mr. S. R. Watson, of Whitby, after a suitable address, performed the ceremony; and the Rev. J. C. Potter, of Whitby, stated the principles of Congregational Dissenters, and their aims in the erection of the chapel. The Rev. J. Jameson, late of the Pickering Home Missionary Academy, and now the resident Missionary at the Bay, assisted in the devotional services.
ORDINATIONS, &c. On the 11th and 12th of February, 1840, the Rev. D. Morgan, late of Maachester, was publicly recognised as the pastor of the Congregational church at Llanfyllin, Montgomeryshire, when the following ministers officiated in the sacred work, on the occasion. The Rev. D. Williams, Llanwrtyd; S. Roberts, Llanbrynmair; J. Davies, Llanfair; J. Williams, Aberhosan; William Roberts, Penal; C. Jones, Dolgelley; M. Jones, Llanurchlyn, and House, Llansaintfraid. The prospect in the church and the neighbourhood is encouraging and the minister, with the people of his charge, are looking forward, earnestly seeking and hope for the outpouring of the Holy Spirit to accompany thei labour, which is abundantly shed on the churches in general in North Wales, a the present time.
On Tuesday, the 14th of April, 1840, the Rev. John Owen, late student & Carmarthen College, was ordained to the pastoral office over the Congregations church at Bishops Castle, in the county of Salop. The Rev. T. Jones, o Minsterley, commenced the service by reading the scriptures and prayer. The introductory discourse was delivered by the Rev. T. Morgan, of Welshpool and the usual questions were proposed by the Rev.J.J. Beynon, of Dorrington. The Rev. T. Weaver, of Shrewsbury, offered up the ordination prayer, with imposition of hands; and delivered the charge to the pastor, concluding the afternoon worship with prayer. In the evening the Rev, T. Davies, of Ladlow, preached to the church and congregation.
On Monday, April 19th, 1840, the Rev. W. Campbell, M. A., was recognised as pastor of the church and congregation assembling in St. James's Chapel, Newcastle-on-Tyne. The Rev. J. Jack, M.A., of North Shields, delivered the introductory discourse, in which, with great felicity, he exhibited the charch as the scene of christian solemnities; the Rev. Mr. Caldwell, of Howden, offered the recognition prayer; and the Rev. Dr. Morison, of London, addressed the pastor and people in a charge of great comprehensiveness and power, in which he enforced the mutual obligations of both parties. The Rev. Mr. Froggatt, of Morpeth, the Rev. Mr. Richardson, of Sunderland, the Rev. Mr. Ward, of Hexham, the Rev. Mr. Kelsey, of South Shields, the Rev. Mr. Atkinson, of Monk-Wearmouth, and the Rev. Mr. Reid, of Newcastle, took part in the services.
The first anniversary of the opening of the Independent chapel at Middleshrough, Yorkshire, was celebrated on the 19th and 20th of April last. On the 19th (Lord's-day) sermons were preached, both morning and evening, by the Rev. R. Forsaith, of Durham. On the evening of Monday, the 20th, the Rev. J. Ely, of Leeds, preached the third and last of the anniversary sermons. On Tuesday morning, the 21st, the Rev. Robert Thomson, A.M., late of Staindrop, Durham, was publicly recognised as the pastor of this new interest, on which occasion the Rev. J. C. Potter, of Whitby, described the constitution, character, and duties of a christian church; the Rev. W. Hinmers, of Ayton, (Cleveland) the highly-respected father of the Independent ministry in the North Riding, offered up the designation prayer; and the Rev. John Ely, of Leeds, afterwards addressed to the minister and people appropriate counsels, founded on Malachi iii. 10, from which he powerfully exhibited the elements and means of spiritual prosperity in a church of Christ. The other devotional services were conducted by the Rev. W. Hague, (Guisbro'),
- Hirst, (Appleton-Wiski), - Adin, (Stokesley), W. Long, (Baptist, Stockton), and Mr. R. Pritchett, (of Rotherham College.) These interesting services were concluded in the evening of the same day by a tea party in the large room of the Exchange hotel, where a number of friends from neighbouring churches, in addition to the members and congregation of Middlesbro' enjoyed the social repast, abundantly provided by several ladies belonging to the chapel, assisted by a few in the neighbourhood. The proceeds of the anniversary collections were in aid of the debt on the chapel. After tea, interesting and spirited addresses were delivered by J. Blacket, Esq., of Stokesley, the chairman, and the Rev. Messrs. Potter, Ely, Hodgson, (Wesleyan), and Hague.
On Thursday, April 30th, 1840, the Rev. Robert Jones, from Anglesea, was ordained to the pastoral office over the Independent church and congregation at Corwen, Merionethshire. Upon which occasion, the Rev. Thomas Ellis, of Llangwm, delivered the introductory discourse, and proposed the usual questions. The Rev. Michael Jones, of Llannwchllyn gave the charge from Phil. ii. 20, and the Rev. David Price, of Pen-y-Bontfawr, preached to the people, from Mark vi. 4.
The devotional parts of the services were conducted by Messrs. Jones, of Pen-y-Bont, Thomas Davies, of Llandrillo, and Jones, of Llanfyllin.
On May 13th, the Rev. Charles Payton, late of Highbury College, was ordained to the pastoral charge of the church and congregation assembling in Lendal Chapel, York.
The Rev, E. Jukes, of Leeds, introduced the service with prayer. The Rev. R. W. Hamilton, of Leeds, delivered the introductory discourse. The Rev. James Jackson, of Greenhammerton, asked the usual questions, and received Mr. Payton's confession of faith. The Rev, James Parsons, (late pastor of the church) offered the ordination prayer, and Dr. Henderson delivered the charge to his late pupil. In the evening Dr. Raffles, of Liverpool, preached on the duties of the people. The services were deeply interesting and impressive.
The pulpit of Lendal Chapel became vacant in consequence of the church and congregation having, with a view to the extension of the Redeemer's kingdom, erected another edifice called Salem Chapel, which will accommodate 1600 persons, which was opened last July.
When the new chapel was ready, the members of the church (consisting of 447 individuals) were required to signify their intention either to remove with Mr. Parsons to Salem Chapel, or to continue at Lendal Chapel; 368 members resolved to remove and 79 to remain to carry out the principles in which the new Chapel commenced.
It is gratifying to find that the favour of the Most High has evidently attended these measures, for while Salem Chapel is well filled, the attendance at Lendal Chapel, which seats 1200 persons is considerable, and gradually increasing, and no doubt is entertained that by the blessing of God on the devoted labours of their young minister, it will prosper and be a blessing as it has hitherto been, to the city of York.
The ordination of the Rev. J. Baker, as pastor of the Congregational church assembling in Zion Chapel, Brampton, Cumberland, took place on Tuesday, 19th May, 1840. The services of the day were conducted in the following order. The Rev. Robert Wolstenholme, of Carlisle, commenced by reading appropriate portions of scripture and prayer. The Rev. William Brewis, of Penrith, gave a brief but lucid statement of the scriptural character of Congregational dissent; the Rev. J.H. Wardlaw, of Stockton, (the former pastor of the church) proposed with great propriety and chasteness the questions to the minister; the Rev. J. Harper, of Alston, then proceeded in a very feeling and solemn manner to offer up the ordination prayer, after which the Rev. Thomas Raffles, D.D. LL.D., of Liverpool, gave the charge, founded upon 2 Tim. iv. 5.“ Do the work of an evangelist,”-a discourse, which, deeply interesting and impressive in itself, was rendered the more so to the newly-ordained pastor from the circumstance of the Rev. Doctor having for many years sustained the pastoral relation towards
In the evening Dr. Raffles preached to the people, in the Wesleyan chapel, kindly lent for the occasion, from Luke xv. 10.-a discourse full of eloquent description and powerful appeal. The ministers engaged in the other parts of the services were, the Rev. J. Ward, of Hexham, the Rev. J. Reeve, of Wigton, the Rev. T. M. Newnes, at present supplying at Keswick.
On Wednesday, June 3, 1840, the Rev. G. Swann, was publicly recognized as pastor of the Congregational Church assembling in Zion Chapel, Attercliffe, near Sheffield. The following ministers took part in the service, viz., intro ductory discourse, Rev. D. Rees, (Baptist,) Port Mahon Chapel, Sheffield; recognition prayer, Rev. J. Thorpe, Mount Zion Chapel, Sheffield ; charge to the minister, Rev. T. Smith, A.M. Nether Chapel, Sheffield : sermon to the people, Rev. W. H. Stowell, Theological Tutor, Rotherham College. The devotional parts of the service were conducted by the Rev. Messrs. Landells, Eltringham, and Pearson.
In the evening a social tea meeting was held in the school rooms adjoining the chapel, after which addresses were delivered by the Revs. T. Smith, J. Thorpe, D. Rees, T. Dixon, J. Harrison, Barnard Castle ; J. Rhodes, Fulwood; J. Hudson, Rotherham; and by several other gentlemen and students from Rotherbam College. The congregations were large and respectable.
REMOVAL. The Rev. Thomas Giles, late of Wincanton, Somerset, having accepted an invitation from the Congregational Dissenters, at Tisbury, Wilts, commenced his labours in that place on the second Sabbath in October, 1839.
COLLEGIATE APPOINTMENTS, &c. It is with much pleasure we record the appointment of the Rev. Thomas W. Jenkyn, formerly of Oswestry, to be the Theological and Resident Tutor of Coward College, London. Our brother has not only distinguished himself as a faithful pastor, but also as an able theologian, in his works on “ The Extent of the Atonement," and on “ The Union of the Holy Spirit and the Church in the Conversion of the World.” Compelled, by a threatening disorder, a year ago to resign his pastoral charge at Stafford, he visited Germany, and we rejoice that his health is so restored as to enable him to accept the unanimous invitation of the Trustees, whom we sincerely congratulate upon their auspicious selection.
The University of Leipzig has conferred the degree of Doctor of Philosophy upon the Rev. William Smith, the Classical Tutor of Highbury College. Those of our readers who are acquainted with the elementary Latin books of that gentleman, his editions of the “ Germanica, &c. of Tacitus," the “ Apology, &c. of Plato," and his “ Translation of Dr. Wiggens's Life of Socrates," and other literary and classical labours, will feel that he has won and may honourably wear his academical honour.
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS AND MINOR CORRESPONDENCE. Favours have been received from Rev, Drs. Clunie-J. Hoppus-Matheson -Urwick. Rev. Messrs. W. Owen-J. Woodwark-J. C. Potter-Thomas Milner-Algernon Wells-G. B. Kidd-G. Croft-J. R. Jones-E. Huxtable -T. 0. Dobbin--T. Giles J. S. Bright-Thomas Scales.
Also from Edward Baines, Esq. M.P.-W. Stroud, Esq. M.D.-Messrs. J. W. Smith-J. Spencer-J. P. Pritchett.
Dr. Urwick wishes to refer “ his unknown but intelligent friend," who reviewed his work on “ The Saviour's Right to Divine Worship" in our last Number, to pages 65-67 of his book, where he will find that Dr. U. has exexplained the use of the word pookuvéw in Rev. iii. 9, by a reference to Isaiah Ix. 14.
The hint of Mr. Spencer shall be remembered.
We are compelled to defer an article on Dissenting Statistics, and other communications, till our next.
THE CONGREGATIONAL MAGAZINE.
ON THE ROYAL TOUCH FOR THE KING'S EVIL,
LAST FORM OF PRAYER APPOINTED FOR THE CEREMONY.
Claims to extraordinary authority over the persons and consciences of men have usually been sustained by pretensions to miraculous power; a mode of attestation against which, if really possessed, there could be no dispute. This, I imagine, originated, and for almost seven hundred years maintained, the royal practice of touching persons afflicted with the disease called the king's evil, and by which the sovereigns of England managed to impress the minds of myriads of their subjects with an idea of their peculiar sanctity.
Edward the Confessor is said to have been the first English monarch who practised this piece of kingcraft; and William of Malmsbury blames those who attributed the cures he wrought to bis royalty, and not to his sanctity ; but later writers have conceded the gift to the royalty of the king, (for all the sovereigns of England, since Edward's day, have not been saints, but have, at the same time, questioned whether the sanative virtue descended lineally with the crown by proximity of blood, or whether it was not to be ascribed to the unction which each monarch, at his coronation, received at the hands of the Bishops.
Our historical poet, Shakespeare, has given, with graphic truth, a scene at the King of England's palace, where he introduces Malcolm and Macduff in conversation with a doctor of physic, thus :
Malcolm. Comes the king forth, I pray you?
Doctor. Aye, Sir; there are a crew of wretched souls
Mal. "Tis called the evil,
A most miraculous work in this good king, N. S. VOL. IV.-Vol. XXIII.