Pagina-afbeeldingen
PDF
ePub

ST. GILES'S CRIPPLEGATE, BARBER-SUR

GEONS' HALL, FORTUNE THEATRE.

ANTIQUITY OF ST. GILES'S CRIPPLEGATE CHURCH. — CELEBRATED MEN

BURIED THERE : SPEED, -JOHN FOX,— ROBERT GLOVER, — SIR MARTIN FROBISHER,- -WILLIAM BULLEYN, — MILTON,- MARGARET LUCY, THOMAS BUSBY.--MONKWELL STREET.—BARBER-SURGEONS' HALL.SILVER STREET.-SION COLLEGE. WOOD STREET.-ST. MARY, ALDERMANBURY.—JUDGE JEFFERYS. —THOMAS FARNABY.JEWIN STREET.—ALDERSGATE STREET.-SHAFTESBURY, PETRE, AND LONSDALE HOUSES.—MILTON.-BARBICAN. FORTUNE THEATRE,

LET us retrace our steps to London Wall, and stroll into the interesting and venerable church of St. Giles's Cripplegate. There are few religious edifices in London, through which the poet, the antiquary, or the historian will wander with greater pleasure, or quit with greater regret.

The church of St. Giles, “ without Cripplegate,” was originally founded, about the year 1090, by Alfune, Bishop of London, and dedicated by him to St. Egidius, or St. Giles, a wealthy native saint of Athens, whose tenderness of heart is said to have been so great, that having expended his whole fortune in acts of charity, he gave the coat on his back to a sick beggar, whom he had no other means of relieving. In 1545, the old church was partially burnt, but was shortly afterwards repaired, and has since undergone but little change. The name of Cripplegate was derived from the neighbouring postern, or Cripple-gate, so called, according to Stow, from the number of cripples who were in the daily habit of assembling there, for the purpose of begging alms from those who passed into, or out of the city.

St. Giles's church can boast but little architectural beauty, and that little is destroyed by its heavy pews, and its cumbrous and unsightly galleries. The great interest which it possesses is from its historical associations, from the many celebrated men who lie buried beneath its roof, and lastly, from the very interesting remains of the old fortified wall, which can only be seen by a visit to its gloomy church-yard.

On the south wall of the chancel is the monument of the celebrated antiquary, John Speed, who, as the Latin inscription on it informs us, * died on the 28th of July 1629, and was buried within the church. His monument, of white marble, consists of a bust, which was once gilt and painted, in which the old antiquary is represented holding in one hand a book, and a skull in the other.

• Piæ Memoriæ clarissimorum Parentum, Johannis Speed, Civis Londinensis, Mercatorum Scissorum Fratris, Servi fidelissimi Regiarum Majestatum Elizabethæ, Jacobi, et Caroli nunc superstitis. Terrarum nostrarum Geographi accurati, et fidi Antiquitatis Britannicæ Historiographi, Genealogiæ Sacræ elegantissimi Delineatoris. Qui postquam annos 77 superaverat, non tam morbo confectus, quam mortalitatis tædio lassatus, corpore se levavit Julii 28, 1629, et jucundissimo Redemptoris sui desiderio sursum elatus carnem hic in custodiam posuit, denuo cum Christus venerit, recepturus, &c.

[ocr errors]

Passing on, also on the south wall of the chancel, is a simple tablet to the memory of John Fox, the author of the “ Book of Martyrs,” who died in the neighbourhood in April 1587, and who lies buried beneath.* It is well known, that, after be was reduced in circumstances, Fox lived for a considerable time in the house of Sir Thomas Lucy, of Charlecote, in Warwickshire, as tutor to his sons; it is, therefore, not a little interesting to find a child and grandchild of Sir Thomas buried beneath the same roof as the venerable tutor of the family, and mingling their dust with his. It seems probable that the London residence of the Lucys was in this immediate neighbourhood. Sir Thomas Lucy, above mentioned, was the knight whose park was the scene of Shakespeare's deerstealing frolic, and whom he has immortalized as,

A Parliament man, a justice of peace,

At home a poor scare-crow, in London an ass. Over the tomb of the martyrologist is a strikinglooking monument, representing a female figure in a shroud rising from a coffin. This has been supposed to commemorate the story of a lady, who,

* “Johanni Foxo, Ecclesiæ Anglicanæ Martyrologo fidelissimo, Antiquitatis Historicæ Indagatori sagacissimo, Evangelicæ Veritatis Propugnatori acerrimo, Thaumaturgo admirabili; qui Martyres Marianos, tanquam Phænices, ex cineribus redivivos præstitit ; Patri suo omni pietatis officio imprimis colendo, Samuel Foxus, illius primogenitus, hoc Monumentum posuit, non sine lachrymis. “ Obiit die 18 Mens. April. An. Dom. 1587, jam septuagenarius. Vita vitæ mortalis est, spes vitæ iromortalis.” The inscription is now perfect only as far as the word “hoc.”

baving been buried while in a trance, was restored to life, and subsequently became the mother of several children; her resuscitation, it is said, having been brought about by the cupidity of a sexton, which induced him to open the coffin in order to obtain possession of a valuable ring which was on her finger. The story, however, is entirely fabulous. The monument in question is to the memory of Constance Whitney, eldest daughter of Sir Robert Whitney, and grand-daughter of Sir Thomas Lucy, who died at the age of seventeen ; excelling, as her epitaph informs us,“ in all noble qualities

“ becoming a virgin of so sweet proportion of beauty, and harmony of parts."

Another monument in the south aisle, is a mural tablet in memory of Robert Glover, the well-known antiquary and herald, who died in 1588. The tablet contains a long Latin inscription, commemorative of his genius and indefatigable diligence, bis blameless life and pious end.

It is to be regretted that there is no memorial to point out the resting-place of that gallant knight, Sir Martin Frobisher, whose name is so intimately connected with the destruction of the Spanish Armada, and the fortunes of Sir Walter Raleigh. It has generally been supposed that, after he received his death-wound near Brest, his body was conveyed to Plymouth and interred at that place. There can be no question, however, that he was buried in St. Giles's church ; his name appearing in the

register of burials, under the date 14th of January 1594-5.

Another eminent person buried in this church, but to whose memory there is no monument, is William Bulleyn, physician to Edward the Sixth, Queen Mary, and Queen Elizabeth, and unquestionably one of the most learned men of his time.

Dr. Bulleyn, who was the author of several medical works, died on the 7th of Ja

nuary 1576.

But the most illustrious person who lies buried in St. Giles's church, is the author of “ Paradise Lost.” Aubrey, writing in 1681, informs us, “He lies buried in St. Giles's Cripplegate, upper end of the chancel, at the right hand : Mem., his stone is now removed: about two years since the two steps to the Communion-table were raised. Speed and he lie together.” In the parish register, among the entry of burials on the 12th of November 1674, are the words,—“ John Milton, gentleman, consumption, chancel.” In 1790, the grave of the poet was opened and his remains desecrated, which provoked some indignant verses from Cowper.

Ill fare the hands that heaved the stones

Where Milton's ashes lay,
That trembled not to grasp his bones,

And steal his dust away!

O, ill-requited bard i neglect

Thy living worth repaid,
And blind idolatrous respect

As much affronts thee dead !

« VorigeDoorgaan »