L'Allegro, Il Penseroso, Comus, and Lycidas

Good Press, 29 nov 2019 - 127 pagina's
"L'Allegro, Il Penseroso, Comus, and Lycidas" by John Milton is a captivating collection of four poetic masterpieces that showcase Milton's profound artistry and versatility. "L'Allegro" celebrates the joyous and lively aspects of life, while "Il Penseroso" explores the contemplative and meditative side of human nature. "Comus" presents a delightful masque with themes of virtue and temptation, and "Lycidas" mourns the loss of a friend, blending elegy with pastoral beauty. Milton's poetic brilliance shines through in these timeless works, offering readers an enriching experience of both the joys and sorrows of human existence.

Vanuit het boek

Geselecteerde pagina's

Overige edities - Alles bekijken

Veelvoorkomende woorden en zinsdelen

Over de auteur (2019)

John Milton, English scholar and classical poet, is one of the major figures of Western literature. He was born in 1608 into a prosperous London family. By the age of 17, he was proficient in Latin, Greek, and Hebrew. Milton attended Cambridge University, earning a B.A. and an M.A. before secluding himself for five years to read, write and study on his own. It is believed that Milton read everything that had been published in Latin, Greek, and English. He was considered one of the most educated men of his time. Milton also had a reputation as a radical. After his own wife left him early in their marriage, Milton published an unpopular treatise supporting divorce in the case of incompatibility. Milton was also a vocal supporter of Oliver Cromwell and worked for him. Milton's first work, Lycidas, an elegy on the death of a classmate, was published in 1632, and he had numerous works published in the ensuing years, including Pastoral and Areopagitica. His Christian epic poem, Paradise Lost, which traced humanity's fall from divine grace, appeared in 1667, assuring his place as one of the finest non-dramatic poet of the Renaissance Age. Milton went blind at the age of 43 from the incredible strain he placed on his eyes. Amazingly, Paradise Lost and his other major works, Paradise Regained and Samson Agonistes, were composed after the lost of his sight. These major works were painstakingly and slowly dictated to secretaries. John Milton died in 1674.

Bibliografische gegevens