John Rea, (Pennsylvania)
John Rhea, (Tennessee)
John Roane,
John Ross,
Ebenezer Sage,
Lemuel Sawyer,
Daniel Sheffey,
Dennis Smelt,
George Smith,
Samuel Smith,
Henry Southard,
Richard Stanford,
John Stanley,
William Stedman,

James Stephenson,
Lewis B. Sturges
Jacob Swoope,
Samuel Taggart,
Benjamin Tallmadge,
John Taylor,
George M. Troup,
Jabez Upham,
Archibald Van Horn,
Killian K. Van Rensselaer,
Laban Wheaton,
Robert Whitehill,
James Wilson,
Robert Witherspoon.

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

A motion was then made by Mr. Randolph, and seconded, to refer the first of the said resolutions to a select coinmittee, with leave to report by bill or other. wise.

A division of the question upon referring the said first resolution, was called for by Mr. Lyon, to take place after the word “ disbanded.”

A motion was then made by Mr John G. Jackson, and seconded, that the resolution aforesaid be referred to the committee of the whole House on the state of the Union:

And the question to refer to the committee of the whole House on the state of the Union, being taken upon the first member of the said resolution as pro. posed to be divided by Mr. Lyon, and to read in the words following, to wit:

“ Resolved, That the troops raised under the act of the twelfth of April, one thousand eight hundred and eight, entitled "An act to raise, for a limited time, an additional military force,” be immediately disbanded."

It was resolved in the affirmative. The question to refer to the said committee of the whole House, was then taken upon the second mem. ber of the same, contained in the words following, to wit: “ and that the balance of appropriation remaining unexpended in relation to the same, and any

balance of appropriation for gun-boats, which may remain unexpended, be applied towards arming and equipping the whole body of the militia of the United States."

And resolved in the affirmative. The second of the proposed resolutions was then again read at the Clerk's table, and the question being taken thereupon,

It was unanimously agreed to by the House, every member present voting in the affirmative, to wit:

Lemuel J. Alston,
Willis Alston, junior,
William Anderson,
Ezekiel Bacon,
William Baylies,
David Bard,
Burwell Bassett,
William W. Bibb,
Daniel Blaisdell,
Adam Boyd,
James Breckenridge,
John Brown,
Robert Brown,
William A. Burwell,
William Butler,
Joseph Calhoun,
John Campbell,
John C. Chamberlain,
William Chamberlin,
Martin Chittenden,
Matthew Clay,
Howell Cobb,
James Cochran,
James Cox,
William Crawford,
Henry Crist,
Richard Cutts,
Samuel W. Dana,
John Davenport, junior,
John Dawson,
Joseph Desha,
William Ely,
John W. Eppes,
William Findley,
Jonathan Fisk,

Meshack Franklin, Barzillai Gannett, Barent Gardenier, Gideon Gardner, Thomas Gholson, junior, Charles Goldsborough, Peterson Goodwyn, Thomas R. Gold, Edwin Gray, William Hale, Nathaniel A. Haven, Daniel Heister, William Helms, James Holland, Benjamin Howard, Jonathan H. Hubbard, Jacob Hufty, John G. Jackson, Richard Jackson, Robert Jenkins, Richard M. Johason, Walter Jones, Thomas Kenan, William Kennedy, Philip B. Key, Herman Knickerbacker, Joseph Lewis, junior, Edward St. Loe Livermore, John Lore, Matthew Lyon, Aaron Lyle, Nathaniel Macon, Robert Marion, Vincent Matthews, Archibald M.Bride,

Samuel M.Key,

Thomas Sammons, Alexander M.Kim,

Lemuel Sawyer, Pleasant M. Miller,

Ebenezer Seavera William Milnor,

Samuel Shaw, Tohn Montgomery,

Daniel Sheffey, Nicholas R. Moore,

Dennis Smelt, Thomas Moore,

George Smith, Jeremiah Morrow,

John Smith, Jonathan O. Moscley,

Samuel Smith, Gurdon S. Mumford,

Henry Southard, Roger Nelson,

Richard Stanford, Thomas Newbold,

John Stanley, Thomas Newton,

William Stedman, John Nicholson,

James Stephenson, Joseph Pearson,

Lewis B. Sturges, Benjamin Pickman, junior, Jacob Swoope, Timothy Pitkin, junior,

Samuel Taggart, John Porter,

John Taylor, Peter B. Porter,

John Thompson, Elisha R. Potter,

Uri Tracy, Josiah Quincy,

George M. Troup,
John Randolph,

Jabez Upham,
John Rhea, (Tennessee) Archibald Van Horu,
Matthias Richards,

Laban Wheaton,
John Roane,

Robert Whitehill, John Ross,

James Wilson,
Ebenezer Sage,

Robert Witherspoon.
A motion was then made by Mr. John G. Jackson,
and seconded, to re-consider the last vote.
And the question being taken thereupon,

Yeas, 55.
It was resolved in the affirmative

Nays, 53. The yeas and nay's being demanded by one fifth of the members present,

Those who voted in the affirmative, are Lemuel J. Alston,

William Butler, Willis Alston, junior, Joseph Calhoun, Ezekiel Bacon,

Matthew Clay, David Bard,

Howell Cobb, \Villiam IV. Bibb,

James Cochran, Adam Boyd,

William Crawford, John Brown,

Richard Cutts,


John Dawson,

Jeremiah Morrov, John W. Eppes,

Roger Nelson, William Findley,

Thomas Newbold; Jonathan Fisk,

Thomas Newton, Barzillai Gannctt,

John Nicholson, Gideon Gardner,

Johin Porter, Thomas Gholson, junior, Peter B. Porter, Peterson Goodwyn,

John Rhea, (Tenneuce) James Holland,

Matthias Richards, Jacob Hufty,

John Roane, John G. Jackson,

Ebenezer Sagen Richard M. Johnson,

Lemuel Sawyer, Thomas Kenan,

Samuel Shaw, William Kennedy,

Job Smith, Jobo Love,

Samuel Smith, Aaron Lyle

Henry Southard, Nathaniel Macon,

John Taylor, Robert Marion,

John Thompson, Samuel M.Kee,

George M. Troup; Alexander M.Kim,

Robert Whitehill. John Montgomery,

Those who voted in the negative, are William Baylies,

Philip B. Key, Daniel Blaisdell,

Herman Knickerbacker, William A. Burwell,

Joseph Lewis, junior, John Campbell,

Edward St. Loe Livermore, John C. Chamberlain,

Matthew Lyon, Martin Chittenden,

Vincent Matthews, James Cox,

Pleasant M. Millery Henry Crist,

William Milnor, Samuel W. Dana,

Nicholas R. Moore, John Davenport,

Jonatlian O. Moseley, Joseph Desha,

Joseph Pearson, William Ely,

Timothy Pitkin, junior; Barent Gardenier,'

Elisha R. Potter. Charles Goldsborough,

Josiah Quincy, Edwin Gray,

John Randolph, William Hale,

Thomas Sammons; Nathaniel A. Haven,

Daniel Sheffey, Daniel Heister,

Dennis Smelty William Helms,

George Smith, Jonathan H. Hubbard, Richard Stanford, Richard Jackson,

John Stanley, Robert Jenkins,

William Stedman, Walter Jones,

James Stephenson,

Lewis B. Sturges,
Benjamin Tallmadge,
Jabez Upham,
Archibald Van Horn,

Laban Wheaton.
James Wilson,
Robert Witherspoon.

An adjournment was then called for : when The House adjourned until to-morrow niorning, ten o'clock.

THURSDAY, May 25, 1809. Mr. Marion presented a petition of Ab. Motte, of Charleston, in the state of South Carolina, praying to be allowed the balance of his pay, with interest, as one of the principal assessors for the state of South Carolina, under the act laying and collecting a direct tax within the United States.

The said petition was read, and ordered to be refer. red to the Committee of Claims.

The Speaker laid before the House a letter from the Secretary of the Navy, transmitting a report of the state and disposition, at this time, of the vessels belonging to the navy of the United States, and of the gun boats, which were read and ordered to lie on the table.

Mr. Nelson presented a memorial of the manufacturers of hats residing in Frederick town, state of Maryland, whose names are thereunto subscribed, praying that an additional duty may be laid on the importation of hats of foreign manufacture, or that the importation thereof may be entirely prohibited.

The said petition was read, and referred to the Committee of Commerce and Manufactures.

On motion of Mr. Newton, and seconded, Resolved, That the Committee of Commerce and Manufactures be instructed to inquire into the expediency of permitting all ships or vessels owned by citizens or subjects of any foreign nation with which commercial intercourse is permitted by the act, enti. tled “ An act to interdict the commercial intercourse

« VorigeDoorgaan »